It’s a matter of perspective

I’ve spent the better part of the last two decades making a living in Information Technology.  Many of those years have been spent managing some aspect of the PC world.  In that time, I’ve seen a half dozen releases of MS-DOS, at least that many variations on Windows, not to mention the changes in the applications that run on the respective operating systems.

Over the course of the past half decade, digital media has exploded.  If you’ve got a digital camera, an MP3 player or an iPod then you know what I’m talking about.  In an effort to manage some of my own digital content, I’ve played with making movies and the like to try and display the family photos since practically none of them will ever see photo paper.  This has always been a very difficult and truly hit & miss experience using a Windows PC.

As I mentioned earlier, I’ve been working on a new MacBook Pro over the past few months and I had the opportunity to create a DVD movie for a friend’s retirement ceremony.  Now this friend is also a veteran of the modern workplace dominated by Windows PC’s.  When I showed him the first draft of his retirement video slideshow (replete with music & Ken Burns style transitions), his reaction was that of a Windows user.  “Wow!  How’d you do that!?”.  Veteran Mac users, on the other hand, would recognize that I’ve simply used the default template in iDVD.

Now if you tried to make a presentation using the default template in a Microsoft application, I’d role my eyes and recognize it for what it is.  But since most of the world who’ll view my project in a couple of weeks have the same perspective as me (or that I had anyway), they’ll likely have a “wow” response.  For those few Mac users that will be in attendance (statistically < 10%), I apologize in advance for using the default template.

But heck, it’s all a matter of perspective!

Cheers,
Braddog

 

Leave a Reply

