It’s no Big Green Egg, but….

…my brother called and was putting together a pork butt on his ECB (that’s El Cheapo Brinkmann if you’re not familiar with BBQ forums).  I gave him a little advice and it looks like he was able to pull off a pretty nice meal for his new in-laws.

I insisted that he send me before & after photos for the blog, so here they are.

This really has to be a labor of love to cook a butt on this cooker.  He had to add charcoal every 3-4 hours.   The meat went on at 2:00pm and came off at 5:30am the next morning.  Over the course of 15.5 hours….well, you can do the math on how much sleep he got.

In contrast, I did a butt this weekend as well.  I started the BGE at 4:00pm and did pork steaks for dinner.  They cooked for ~2.5 hrs at 375 degrees.  I think reduced the temp, added a pork butt and cooked it for 12 hrs. without touching the fire or adding any charcoal.  I didn’t even check the temps between 11:30pm and 6:30am.

So, one of us got a good night’s sleep and the other cooked on an ECB!  🙂

Cheers,

Braddog

Leave a Reply

