Twitter

I began hearing about “twittering” or “tweets” about 6 months ago when I began seriously  listening to podcasts while commuting to the office.  I wasn’t sure what the heck the podcasters meant by this, and even after visiting Twitter it still didn’t’ make sense to me. For the uninitiated, Twitter is a service that allows you to write short updates about what you’re doing at any given time.  I mean there are people who literally “tweet” about every bit of minutia in their lives.  As I said, it just didn’t make any sense to me.

Nonetheless, after chatting with a friend of mine I decided to give it a shot.  I fell into posting the occassional message on Twitter and began to read the updates (or follow) the posts of a handful of folks that I know, some tech journalists, and some organizations that post updates on their goods or services.

I quickly grew tired of it and realized that I don’t care what people had for breakfast, what they’re doing at work at any given moment, or how they spend their down time.  Heck, I don’t even care about most of this stuff as it relates to my own day to day routine.  But this is mostly what I saw from the folks that I followed.

But today I read an email from Realtor.org that talked about how to leverage Twitter as a real estate agent and in business in general.  I gotta tell you, I like to think of myself as fairly well in tune with the technology world and that I know a little about the “new media” world on the internet but I still don’t get it.  I can’t imagine how a real estate agent would make use of this tool.

So I submit the link for your purusal.  If you can see the business use or value proposition in leveraging this service I’d love to hear your thougts.  In the mean time, you can follow me at @braddog on Twitter.  You won’t get a single update about the minutia of my life (or about anything else for that matter), but if you want to follow me, go for it!  🙂

Cheers,
Braddog

2 Responses

  1. […] Twitter Follow-up Posted on November 5, 2008 by braddog A couple of weeks ago, I wrote a post about Twitter and whether it has any business value.  Since then, I’ve seen Twitter referenced in a number […]

  2. I completely agree, Twitter doesn’t seem to be capable of giving me a service that I need or don’t already have.

Leave a Reply

