Review: Scott eVest Fleece 5.0

Over the past couple of years, I’ve been wearing fleece jackets for quick trips outdoors during the winter and as a fall/spring weight jacket.  Heck, I even wear them around the house in the coldest months instead of a Mr. Rogers cardigan.

So for Christmas this year, my family presented me with what they affectionately refer to as “Geek Fleece”. (Should I be offended?)  The folks at ScotteVest design a line of clothing rife with pockets for everything from your iPhone to extra ammo.  The piece that I received is their Fleece 5.0 and it has 28 pockets in total.  The inside pockets are perfect for my iPod Touch and my long-in-the-tooth Motorola Q.  There are also dedicated pockets for eyeglasses, ID, earbuds, travel documents, and the list goes right on up to 28.

I wore my “Geek Fleece” quite a lot this weekend and found it quite comfortable.  It is a good weight and the black is pretty versatile.  The main inner pockets are see-through and allow you to view what’s playing on your iPod or check your caller ID without removing either device.  I found that I do have to have my glasses handy because at that distance, I can’t focus on the respective screens.  But that’s my issue, not theirs.

On the downside, I’m not a big fan of the reflective pinstripe across the back or on the Napolean pockets.  Also, once you load it down with your stuff, it’s a little heavy.  Not to mention, that with 28 pockets I’m apt to forget where I’ve stashed everything.

Overall, I’m pretty excited about it.  If this doesn’t give you geek cred, I don’t know what will! 🙂

Cheers,
Braddog

4 Responses

  1. There’s at least two more steps to complete your geekdrobe.

    The first is those goofy pants that have pockets for many of the same warchest of geek devices. Dockers, perhaps? I can’t remember…

    The second is a lens vest. I mean, you can never have too many lenses on you… just in case. 🙂

  2. Maybe the shorts….come warmer weather!

  3. […] Comments Tech Top 5 for 2008 « Braddog’s Blog on I’ve Gone Googlebraddog on Review: Scott eVest Fleece 5.0George Perschbacher on Review: Scott eVest Fleece 5.0Coffe Machines on Keurig Single Serve […]

Leave a Reply

