Top 5 Tech for 2009

Once again, this year is marked by the acquisition or use of a number of technology items.  These are my own Top 5 that I’ve personally used or own.

#5 – Geocaching Application for the iPhone.  The kids and I enjoy the occasional geocaching excursion.  This usually means spending a little time charting a route, printing out maps & clues, and downloading GPS coordinates into my hand held Garmin GPS.  However, the folks at Groundspeak launched a geocaching  application for the iPhone that allows you the ability to go completely paperless.  It uses the GPS built into the phone to do instant searches for nearby caches, displays them on a Google map, and provides access to all of the hints, logs, and other info about each cache.  While it’s not cheap as far as iPhone apps go, at $10 it’s an awesome deal.

#4 – Mozy.  You all have a backup of the really important stuff on your PC, right?  I mean, with the proliferation of digital media (photos, MP3’s, etc.) a hard drive crash could be more disastrous that in the past.  There are a number of on-line backup solutions that have sprung up.  The one that I’m using is called Mozy.  At $50/yr. it’s a huge peace of mind to know that all of my family photos (I’ve been digital since 2000), music, personal documents, and so on are backed up in the event that my hard drive crashes.  Even better, it’s so automatic that I don’t even have to think about the backup.  Just set it and forget it.  Any time that new content is created or added to my computer, the files are automatically backed up to Mozy servers.  If you’re not backing up your data, sign up for Mozy NOW!

#3 – iMac.  Early this year, I purchased a refurbished iMac from Apple.  I got a an awesome deal and a really awesome computer at the same time.  Unlike any PC that I’ve owned over the years, the iMac is a sleek, sexy machine.  Enough so that I don’t mind it having a place of prominence in the kitchen/sunroom.  Having the iMac in proximity to where we spend most of our time, has driven up the families overall use of a computer and access to the online world.  All in all, a very good thing.

#2 – Eye-Fi.  I’ve had my eye on this technology for awhile, but after a couple of friends acquired one and raved about it I popped for one a short while ago.  This little SD memory card fits in your digital camera, but it also includes a wireless card to access your home network.  Software is installed on your computer (also on your home network), and every time you take a photo it is instantly transferred to your computer.  If you take photos away from home, they’re transferred to your computer the next time the camera is turned on while in range of your home network.  You can also configure an automatic transfer of photos to any one of a number of online services.  My Christmas photos were synching in real time to my Flickr account There are versions of the Eye-Fi that provide access to WiFi hotspots, geotag your photos, and support video as well as digital photos.  This has eliminated the  words “Honey/Dad, can you get the photos off of the camera” around my house.  At $50, it’s an awesome deal!

#1 – iPhone.  No surprise I guess, I love my iPhone.  While it certainly is a telephone, it’s really a portable personal computer.  I use it for email, access to the internet, games, photos, updating this blog (as well as Grillandbarrel.com) and much more.  With a huge library of applications and nearly as many websites supporting pages customized specifically for the iPhone, it’s become the primary tool in my technology arsenal.  It’s not cheap and the data service isn’t either, but I think it’s well worth it.

There you have it folks, my personal Top 5 Tech for 2009.  I wonder what 2010 will bring?  A 4G iPhone, an Apple tablet, a new big screen TV?  All are possible, and a couple of these are even likely.  But you’ll have to wait until this time next year for my 2010 top 5!

Cheers,

Braddog

3 Responses

  1. MozyHome works pretty well for me – on both Mac and PC. MozyPro needs a lot work, however – the interface is extremely convoluted and not user friendly at all.

    Use the following link to get 20% more space on a free Mozy Home 2 Gb account: https://mozy.com/free/?code=NN32HH

    That would be enough to most people to backup their most important documents (not photos/music/videos) on a distant server with regular incremental backup schedules, instead of using an external hard drive and sometimes forget to do the backup.

  2. MozyHome works pretty well for me – on both Mac and PC. Their 2nd level support is good if they are ever needed..

    Use the following link to get 20% more space on a free MozyHome 2 Gb account:

    https://mozy.com/?code=D685JF

  3. […] The busiest day of the year was July 7th with 105 views. The most popular post that day was Top 5 Tech for 2009. […]

Leave a Reply

