New Cooker on Order!

Well, I finally went and did it.  I ordered up a new Backwoods Fatboy.  I’ve been salivating over a new cooker for the better part of a year now.  I’ve looked at most of the vertical style cookers on the market and this seemed to be the right balance of capacity, footprint, and quality/reputation for my needs.

There are quite a few competition teams that do really well with Backwoods cookers, and I’ll confess that swayed me a little bit.  I ran into a BBQ team at Murphysboro, IL last fall and it turns out that he’s a dealer.  Brian Luke, of It’s 5 O’Clock Somewhere, spent a half hour talking to me about these cookers and he was competing that weekend on a Party & a Competitor.  Well, he took Reserve Grand Champion that weekend.

I contacted Brian a few weeks ago and we discussed the merits of the Party vs. the Fatboy and it became clear that I’d be happier with the Fatboy.  Now, I don’t need to cooke 16 pork butts very often (if ever) but having the capacity to do multiple things at the same time is very appealing and I do have the need to cook for ~200 folks on Memorial Day weekend.

I’m pretty excited and I didn’t even end up sleeping on the couch when I I brok the news to the little woman.  We’re expecting the cooker to arrive around the end of April and that should give me some time to get it seasoned and cooke a couple of times before the big event in May.

In the mean time, I continue to peruse the forums and read everything I can about the new toy that’s on the way.

Here’s the specs on the Fatboy:

Fatboy Model

Outside dimensions: 24″ deep
40″ tall w/stack
32″ wide w/drain
27 ½” wide w/out drain

Inside dimensions: 20″ deep
17 ½” tall cooking chamber
20″ wide

Racks: 4 – 4 ½” apart
19 ½” deep
19 ½” wide

Standard features: SS doors, permanent water pan,
Commercial fire grate, 2″ insulation

Cooking degrees: (approx) 200 to 250

Amount of charcoal: (approx) 12 to 18 lb

Cooking time: (approx) 6 to 10 hours

Meat: (approx) 20 slabs of baby backs
16 slabs of st. louis style
8 whole briskets
16 boston butts

Cheers,
Braddog

Leave a Reply

