Thanks Steve

I think back to a very early experience in high school.  It was 1980 and I got my first experience with a TRS-80 personal computer.  I remember being really excited about it and telling my parents about it over dinner.  A couple of years later (1985 if I recall correctly) I acquired my first Apple Computer, an Apple IIC (thanks Mom).  Little did I know at the time that I was destined to make my living in the tech industry.  I can’t say that I’ve ever been a programmer or an engineer, but I’ve always gravitated to technology in every job I’ve ever had.  So I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that I wound up in this business.

I remember 1984 and the introduction of the Mac.  I got my first hands on experience with a Mac in 1999, but by then I’d already begun working as a technician in the PC business.  Over nearly 2 decades, I was a hard-core PC guy.  Don’t push that Apple/Mac stuff on me.  I knew that the IBM compatible personal computer was the only “real PC”.

But I couldn’t get away from Apple.  By the mid 2000’s, you had to admit that Apple owned the portable music world.  But I didn’t concede that point until 2007.  That’s when I finally bought my first iPod.  It didn’t take me long to realize what I’d been missing.  Wow!  This device, an iPod Touch, completely changed my perceptions, and within 4 months I’d purchased my first Macbook Pro.

Suddenly, I was re-energized about personal computers.  This thing was really cool in a way that I’d never seen in any of the myriad of PC’s that I’d owned or worked on in years.  The following year, I landed an iMac in the family room and integrated it into our daily life-flow.  Next came iPhones for the whole family and an iPad.

Now I sit here tonight, banging away on the keyboard of my new MacBook Air and I’ve just learned that Steve Jobs has passed away.  I didn’t appreciate Steve’s early career, but in the past 5 years I’ve gained a whole new perspective.  Steve Jobs and Apple computers helped a jaded, cynical IT professional find the excitement in technology again.  That same excitement that a skinny kid in Southern Illinois experienced with a TRS-80 over 30 years ago in a high school library.

Thanks Steve, and Godspeed.

Cheers,
Braddog

3 Responses

  1. I agree 100%. I “switched” in 2005, and haven’t looked back. When Apple and Steve said, “It just works,” they weren’t kidding.

    I can’t even imagine being in Steve-less world. It’s definitely gonna be less magical, although I’m sure Apple will still “wow” us with new things.

    No matter how amazing those things are, without “one more thing,” it just won’t be the same.

  2. Awesome blog post, Jay! It is amazing what Steve Jobs has done. And I read earlier today that he blueprinted out details of how the iPod, iPad, iPhone and Macs could progress over the next 4 years. So his influence should continue to be seen — and experienced!

  3. Thanks for the notes guys. I know you’re both as big a fan as I am.

    Jay

Leave a Reply

