My First 5K

As I’ve documented here, I’m working on my overall health and fitness.  In the back of my mind, I’ve wondered if I could ever get to a point where I could run a 5K.  Well, that question has been answered.

Jay's 5K

Me, running for the finish line.

A couple of months ago, a good friend of mine was diagnosed with colon cancer.  Early detection was the key, as it was treatable and he is now cancer free.  However, he felt moved to participate in the Undy 5000 5K Run for Colon Cancer Awareness.  I felt moved to run with him.

7035017193_108e1fd93e_o

Colin & me after completing the 5K

So run we did.  Neither of us are the prototypical runner, but we laced up our running shoes, strapped on our iPhones, and set out to complete the 5K course in Forest Park.  We both finished, running most of the race and certainly running across the finish line.  My time was 41 minutes & 53 seconds.  Colin finished in ~50 minutes.   I’d call it a success.

I don’t know that I’m cut out to run a bunch of these races, but I now know that I can.  And when there’s a good cause or motivation, I will.

Cheers,
Braddog

4 Responses

  1. Hi Braddog-

    What a great story! We’re so glad you were able to come out and run in our Undy 5000 for colon cancer awareness, in support if your friend Colin.

    Can we post a link to your blog on our Facebook page?

  2. And if you want the other part of the story, you can see my blog entry for the race, and my fight with colon cancer at http://phydeaux-deauxmayne.net — there’s a pretty long yarn about my fight there.

    Oh, and Jay, my mother told me to tell you “THANK YOU” from her for your support during my fight, and with the race too!

  3. […] the fall doing high intensity workout videos and running on my own treadmill.  Heck, I even ran my first 5K this […]

Leave a Reply

