What a Difference a Year Makes

B&A JayOne year.  That’s how long it’s been since I began my diet and exercise program.  Call it a midlife crisis or beginning to face my own mortality, but I decided that I wasn’t done living.  However, I realized that I wasn’t doing anything to ensure that I live to a ripe old age.  I’ve said this before, but you just don’t see many old guys the size of an NFL lineman.  Okay, so I was the size of a small NFL lineman but you get the idea.

So one year ago today, I joined the gym.  I’ll bet I can count on two hands the number of days this year that I haven’t exercised.  I spent the first several months on the treadmill at 5:00am every morning.  I spent much of the summer logging miles on my bicycle and doing strength training.  And, I’ve spent the fall doing high intensity workout videos and running on my own treadmill.  Heck, I even ran my first 5K this year.

Here’s the tale of the tape.  When I visited my doctor in November last year, I tipped the scale at 298 lbs.  I never saw the scale read 300, but I know that it had to at one time or another.  I was wearing a 52L suit, XXL shirts, and my pants were 42-44″.

One year later, my suits are 44L, my pants are 36-38″, I’m in a large to XL shirt, and the scale has read as low as 227 lbs.  That’s 4 coat sizes, 6-8″ in the waist, and 71 lbs. lost.

I wasn’t sure that I was gonna share before and after photos.  But what the heck.  Call it vanity if you want, but I feel pretty good about what I’ve accomplished.

People always ask, “do you feel better?”.  I’ve always answered like this.  I didn’t feel bad at 300lbs.  In fact, this journey has introduced some aches and pains that I didn’t have before.  But I guess you don’t get aches and pains when you’re not active, huh?  The truth is, I “feel better” when I walk out of the gym every morning.  Or, when I finish my workout and I’m soaked to the bone in my own sweat.  The satisfaction and sense of accomplishment is totally worth it.

Okay, so the fact that so many of you have supported and encouraged me, and taken the time to notice the results doesn’t hurt either.

Cheers,
Braddog

Leave a Reply

