It’s All About the Harmony

When I was very young, there was always music in the house.  My father and his family have a long history in Southern Gospel music.  For those of you that aren’t familiar with Southern Gospel music, it’s most often a quartet with lots of harmonies.  I remember riding in the backseat, listening to gospel music and learning to sing harmony.  Of course, after my voice changed I couldn’t sing the high harmony any longer.  🙂

Nonetheless, I think one of the things that attracts me to musical genres like Bluegrass is that same vocal harmony that I grew up with.  I enjoy playing music with friends and I’ve been playing the guitar and singing for the past 15 years or so.  Unfortunately, we don’t get together as often as we used to and I do miss that experience.

So if you can’t find folks to play and sing with, you find a way to do it with technology.  I recently acquired a vocal harmonizer from a company called Digitech.  You plug your guitar and your microphone into this device, and then attach it to your PA system.  The device then analyzes the note that you’re singing and the notes that you’re playing to determine where the harmonies are.  You can chose male or female voices, high harmonies, low harmonies, double the melodies, or even a high or low octave.  It’s pretty cool stuff.

While it doesn’t replace the fun of getting together to play with friends, it has gotten me playing the guitar more and it’s fun to add harmonies to a variety of songs.

Here’s a short clip that I recorded for a friend.  Oh, and the song selection is a bit of an inside joke.  😉

And, here’s a clip of my Father & Bother singing in a Southern Gospel quartet.

Cheers,
Jay

One Response

  1. Listened to your song, sounded good. Luv u mom

Leave a Reply

