Review: Five Four Club

I like a new set of threads as much as the next guy and with all of the subscription services that have popped up recently, I thought I’d give it a try.  There are many to choose from, but I decided on Five Four Club based on the value to cost proposition.  Their business model is that you receive 2-3 items each month for a flat cost of $60 but an expected minimum value of $120.

Well, I must not be in the target demographic.  Despite completing my profile and choosing classic as my style profile (as opposed to casual or forward), what I received left me speechless.

I received 2 button up shirts.  On the surface, I thought they looked alright.  But on closer inspection, here’s what I discovered.

IMG_2678

A navy blue button-down?  Cool!  That’s classic right?  WRONG.

IMG_2679

Same shirt.  Banded sleeves?  Slash pockets?  On a button-down shirt?  WTH?  Is this an oxford?  A rugby? A jacket?  Who knows?  You gotta be kidding me.

Second shirt.

IMG_2676

Better.  Again, a classic look that I could wear to work or casual.

IMG_2677  IMG_2680

Unfortunately, both shirts have this bizarre logo on the front pocket.  I can’t decide if this is a Harry Potter lightning bolt or an unfortunate acronym.  Either way, me no likey.

Now here’s the really bad part of this service.  You can exchange for a different size (and they do pay the shipping both ways), but you cannot return the items or ask for something different.  You get what you get.

Suffice to say that I cancelled my subscription the very day that I received the first shipment.  As I said, I guess I’m not in their target demographic.  Although, I can’t imagine any demographic wearing the button-down, rugby sleeved, slash pocketed, Harry Potter lightning bolt logo’d abberation that I received.  In fact, the customer service rep that I spoke with (who had chosen “forward” on his style profile) received the same item and shared my opinion.

In summary, Five Four Club = EPIC FAIL.

I’m off to Macy’s to do a little shopping.

Cheers,
Jay

Leave a Reply

